Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Group Advisor

Dr. Deukhyoun Heo

  • Frank Brands Analog Distinguished Professor
  • Director of Analog RF and Mixed Signal Application Group

Deukhyoun Heo received the B.S.E.E. degree in electrical engineering from Kyoungpuk National University, Daegu, Korea, the M.S.E.E. degree in electrical engineering from the Pohang University of Science and Technology (POSTECH), Pohang, Korea, in 1997, and the Ph.D. degree in electrical and computer engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, in 2000. In 2000, he joined the National Semiconductor Corporation, where he was a Senior Design Engineer involved in the development of silicon RFICs for cellular applications. In the Fall of 2003, he joined the faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department, Washington State University, Pullman, where he is currently the Frank Brands Analog Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering.

He has authored or co-authored approximately 190 publications, including 90 peer-reviewed journal papers and 100 international conference papers. He has primarily been interested in RF/microwave/opto transceiver design based on CMOS, SiGe BiCMOS, and GaAs technologies for wireless and wireline data communications, batteryless wireless sensors and intelligent power management system for sustainable energy sources, adaptive beamformers for phased-array communications, low-power high data-rate wireless links for biomedical applications, and multilayer module development for system-in-package solution.

Dr. Heo has been a member of the Technical Program Committee of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (IEEE MTT-S) International Microwave Symposium (IMS) and the International Symposium of Circuit and Systems (ISCAS). He has served as an associate editor for the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON CIRCUITS AND SYSTEMS —PART II: EXPRESS BRIEFS (2007–2009) and has served as an associate editor for the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON MICROWAVE THEORY AND TECHNIQUES. He was the recipient of the 2000 Best Student Paper Award presented at the IEEE MTT-S IMS and the 2009 National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award. He is elevated to IEEE fellow from year 2024.